home / under-the-radar /

cover pic

Under the Radar - February

It’s taken us a little bit of time to get back into the swing of things with the slow paced start to the new year. Release wise it’s been non stop from talents around the world. Enjoy our round up of the best underground music from the opening two months of 2024.


Stream JUSTICE - GENERATOR (EDIT) by SOOAKXA on our SoundCloud

A vicious take on the recent Justice single that has seen the French duo respark across the world ahead of the fast approaching summer festival season. Glasgow talent SOOAKXA envisions what the pair may sound like inna UK hardcore style, and it’s pure rocket fuel.

Thursday Club by L-VIS 1990

He’s back with another wun. L-VIS has sparked the hype train once again in recent weeks with his first new music under the moniker since 2018. There’s set to be a whole lot more where that came from as the man sometimes known as Dance System sets out to release 16 new dubs in 16 weeks. 13 more to go!

Thousand Mistakes, Million Regrets by Asa Nisi Masa

A genuine contender for the title of Ireland’s most exciting electronic act in recent years, Asa Nisi Masa returns with another electrifying instrumental hybrid. ‘Thousand Mistakes, Million Regrets’ zings with its sultry indie guitar riffs, hazy lyricism, and a cacophony of deep breaks, kicks & synths.

Send The Address by DJ Accident At Work & The Bot

The undisputed master of drillectro returns. Accident At Work is back with a new home for his sounds under the Lost Ikigai banner (formerly Reality Club). ‘Send The Address’ lands as the first release on the Glasgow based imprint produced alongside fellow citizen, The Bot, and it packs a serious analogue punch, running alongside the re-energised lyrics of Dave & Central Cee’s ‘Sprinter’.

Exiles by Async Figure

Async Figure continue on their breathtaking run of form with four multi-functional tracks on ‘Exiles’. The UK duo continuously excite and engage with layered RnB soaked club on ‘Quero Evangel’, to the epic synth stutter of ‘F Anthem’. The tripped out reggaeton vibrations on ‘Rumour Zone’ & ‘Optimist Reset’s’ ominous orchestral breakdowns further cement this narrative.

Stone Hardware EP by Galtier & Druid

The ever formidable Nostro Hood System bangs back in 2024 with a double-barrelled opening release from label boss Galtier & Synes co-founder Druid. 4 tracks comprising both solo & collaborative works, the duo thrive on tribal tinged drum pumps and shuffling electro steppers throughout. ‘Body Horror’ stands out as a true epic amidst the rest.

Myogi 妙義 by Dirty K

No one does party anthems quite like Dirty K. Even if they do, they certainly don’t manipulate & revitalise them quite the way he does. Sometimes I don’t think he even realises how party he sounds. Does he? Throughout Dirty K’s work you’ll hear intricate stamps of dance music’s original fabrics alongside the future sonics of East Asia rave. Rarely are samples used to such devastating effects in the club sense than when the Manchester based artist throws his spin on them. Myogi 妙義’s 5 original works (including a collab with T5UMUT5UMU) continue Dirty K’s seemingly relentless onslaught of blitzkrieg club. Also including some not-so-bloody-shabby reworks from WRACK, pìccolo, and Sonia Calico.

HEADSET005 by Usurp

HEADSET returns with its ongoing showcasing of prime Scottish rave. 005 sees Dumfries native Usurp deliver a blend of club uppers and relaxers, combining off-kilter rave stabs, frazzling speed breaks, and sub zero drum rollers across 5 hits. Available on wax more importantly, as well as digitals. The EP closer ‘Birdsong’ is a quite incredible track.

Feeling Everything, All At Once by Redstone Press & Friends

Glasgow based imprint Redstone Press share their first catalogue V/A, featuring 14 percussive leaning club tracks from some of the brightest producers in Scotland. Marking their 10th release, the Lewis Lowe backed label has gathered artists together in aid of Scottish Action for Mental Health (SAMH). Standout numbers include Dansa’s ‘Bog’, ‘Take Your Time’ from Pseudopolis, & Lugas Europ’s ‘Echo Location’.

Why do people vomit? by eye measure

Sheffield act eye measure arrives on TT’s first entry of the new year. ‘Why do people vomit?’ is a thought provoking piece of noise art. Made during a scrapism course with Sam Lavigne at the School For Poetic Computation, the music was generated from a python script which gathers search engine suggestions from the phrase ‘why do people’, spoken by Bas Bleau. It comes accompanied with a more club-rounded version from Rian Treanor who sparks jolting energies with stark synth stabs and twitching, metronomic percussion.

WITNESS05 by One Eye Witness

Dutch imprint One Eye Witness brings together 4 imprint favourites in Priori, Eversines, O’FourtyFour & Reflex Blue. Landing as the the 5th release on the label, it’s further glorification of the unconventional club sounds that have shaped it do date, evolving through smoky, minimal tech house, acidic 90s flavas, rickety two step funk, and analogistic breakbeat punch.

GUTS (Susumu Hirasawa, Crazy Titch) by Neana

Angelic grime-tinged atmos breaks from the ever fervent Neana.

Florilegi V/A by ABUNDANCE

Barcelona-based creative network ABUNDANCE released their first V/A back in January, Florilegi I. Meaning a ‘collection of flowers’ in Catalan, the compilation offers an aural glimpse into the city’s vibrant underground ecosystem, which by all accounts here sounds brimmed with a fiery zest of swagger and pride. The imprint is dedicated to championing the city’s endless talents and serves as a non-profit artistic collective, record label and event organisation. This lands as the 11th record on the label and might just stand as their most impressive yet. Tuck into this one, there really is something for all tastes!

Wonder / Llamada Romantica by PLUS ONE

Gentle, effervescent two-step funk from the ever-reliable Dubliner. Ricocheting warped vocals, tight-knit UK-tinged drums, and warm, engrossing bass lines & melodies are the order of the day on this pretty perfect two-tracker from PLUS ONE.

Opalescent Groove/New Teeth by sweet philly

Deep and hot club shit from sweet philly. The Edinburgh-based Irish act throws up two bass mutating techno cuts merged with a more vogue-focused stir-up of each.

They Don't Love It Like We Do by Ploy

Tunes to scratch your brain in the right way. Forward thinking techno that’s light on its feet, fresh with texture, and ever evolving into new territories. Ploy remains exciting throughout the EP with his use of trippy FX to give his five lovely trax plenty of momentum.

HARD20 by Yas Reven

Thumpin’ club tools from global riser, Yas Reven, with a fresh remix from man of the moment, Dylan Fogerty. Yas Reven has been busy playing at the most iconic DJ orgs like Boiler Room, The Lot Radio, Rinse Fm, and HÖR BERLIN.

Beans by Holloway

Holloway’s two sided ‘Beans’ on London’s All Centre marries 1 majestic funky-fuelled UKG stepper with a dub splattered 90s inspired DnB roller on B-side ‘Trinco’, showcasing yet another side to his ever-revered bass focused productions.